Calling all judges: Jackson State’s Region II Science and Engineering Fair wants you!

March 10, 2017


Jackson State University is looking for judges to assist in the 44th Region II Science and Engineering Fair. imgres

From March 23 – 24, nearly 800 elementary, middle and high school students from 60 area schools will converge at JSU’s Lee E. Williams Athletic Assembly Center.


Together, students will compete in approximately 12 areas of science and technology. The winners of the regional fair will then move on to the Mississippi Science and Engineering Fair where they will have the opportunity to contend on an international level.

Therefore, Jackson State is calling on individuals to volunteer their time and brain power to help select the “best of the best.”


Join the unique and diverse cast of judges, below, who have agreed to add a spice of life to this year’s science fair by clicking on the following link:



Charles King, Managing Director, Teach for America Mississippi

Bishop C.L. Sparks, Owner, Sparks Group

Ivory Williams, Historic Preservation, Laurel, Mississippi

Ramona Alexander, General Manager, FoxNews40

Gino G. Perkins, Section Manager, Maintenance, Nissan, NA

Pam Confer, Community Affairs Manager, Nissan, NA

Caroline Wright, Manager, HR Business Partner, NA

Carla Lewis, Chief Technology Officer, CSpire

Bill Smith, Chief Operating Officer, SanJo Security Systems

Kagan Coughlin, Executive Director, Base Camp Coding Academy, Water Valley, MS

Patrick Sullivan, President, Mississippi Energy Institute

John Arledge, Vice President for Public Affairs, Entergy Mississippi

Lawrence Johnson, Energy Efficiency Manager/Public Affairs, Entergy & the Omega Psi Phi Chapter

Amy Davidson, Corporate Giving Program, Entergy

Will Crossley, President, Piney Woods School



Felicia W. Kent, Director of Development, College of Education and Human Development


Lt. Colonel Tim Henderson, AirForce ROTC, Chair, Aerospace Science

Dr. Valerie Purry, Administrative Assistant/Instructor, History

Dr. B. D’Andre Orey, Professor, Political Science

Ebrahim Alareqi, CDS&E Graduate Assistant

Almesha Campbell, Director of Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property

Martha Tchounwou, Director, Scholars Academy

Angela Y. Getter, Sr. Officer for Development and Corporate Relations, College of Science, Engineering & Technology